Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

If you grew up in the 80s, chances are you saw The Last Dragon. And if you saw The Last Dragon, you probably wished you could be Bruce Leroy (played by Taimak). And if you wanted to be Bruce Leroy you surely hoped that you would get The Glow. I know I did.

I know I’m usually down on anyone remaking a movie, but I can’t help but be excited that RZA from the Wu Tang Clan is currently working on a remake of Barry Gordy’s The Last Dragon. Even better? Samuel Jackson is still in for playing supervillain Sho’Nuff, the shogun of Harlem. I expect that there will be more explicit language in this go ’round, which is a plus in my book. I hope that RZA will direct since he cut his teeth in the martial arts genre with The Man with the Iron Fists which is set to debut on November 2, a date I am eagerly awaiting.

While I’m endorsing the remake sight unseen, one must remember this is an exceedingly cheesy 80s film that co-stars Hanrahan from Slap Shot (Christopher Murney) and 80s Prince pop-protégé Vanity. So it’s not like it’s a remake of Grand Illusion or anything. And imagine the music possibilities with RZA at the helm (reference Ghost Dog: Way of the Samurai and the Kill Bill films). I’m intrigued to see how this project pans out.

You wanna fight? You fight me…you string bean Rick James lookin’ fool!