Blackfish will be airing on CNN tonight @ 9PM. Also, director Gabriela Cowperthwaite is doing an AMA on reddit right now!: http://bit.ly/19Ao6pw

Spirit of the Thing

blackfish - posterRare is the movie that I watch that takes me over a week to process and gather my thoughts about. Blackfish just happens to be one of those films. I was fortunate enough to catch a screening of it while on the road for my job and it is obvious why it is garnering so much attention right now. This is one of the most powerful films I’ve ever seen.

I’m not sure I can put it any better than the filmmaker herself, so this is what the film’s official website lists as the synopsis:

Blackfish tells the story of Tilikum, a performing killer whale that killed several people while in captivity. Along the way, director-producer Gabriela Cowperthwaite compiles shocking footage and emotional interviews to explore the creature’s extraordinary nature, the species’ cruel treatment in captivity, the lives and losses of the trainers and the pressures brought to bear by…

View original post 1,107 more words