Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

breakfast club - poster

“…And these children
that you spit on
as they try to change the worlds
are immune to your consultations.
They’re quite aware
of what they’re going through…” – David Bowie

I am a terribly nostalgic person and this is a movie I hold in the highest regard. As I trundle along in this life, I reflect back on my youth a fair amount. Movies are easily used signposts in this reflection. Thinking about this film, that I was 10 going on 11 when I saw it, gives me pause. In the intervening 29 years (29 FUCKING YEARS!!!) that have passed since then, I, like many of my peers, have come a long way. I honestly don’t think my child-self and therefore my adult-self would be the same without films like The Breakfast Club (or John Hughes‘ entire oeuvre for that matter).

A criminal, a princess, a brain, an athlete and a basket case...

A criminal, a princess, a brain, an athlete and a basket case…

Also, here‘s a great list of trivia about the film. That is all. Back to your standard programming…