Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

RW RIP

As I was getting ready to order something from Amazon for my oldest son this evening, I stumbled across the news that Robin Williams, comedy extraordinaire, had passed away by way of an apparent suicide. Williams had his demons in the past, had struggled with drug and alcohol addiction and was currently battling depression. This is a sad loss for the film and comedy communities. Always colorful in his dress, behavior and language, Williams was always just that – himself. For better or worse. We saw plenty of better and lots of worse with him, but he still managed to carve out a great career for himself on film, excelling in both comedic and dramatic roles. His performances in The World According to Garp, The Birdcage, The Fisher King, Dead Poet’s Society, Good Will Hunting (for which he won an Academy Award) and his small but unbelievably memorable role in Deconstructing Harry will always remain with me. Of course he had other great roles and that’s what we had come to expect from him. I hate typing these words as I have done for Philip Seymour Hoffman and Harold Ramis in the not too distant past. His career spanned the bulk of my lifetime and I first got to know him through Mork & Mindy which is one of the first TV shows I can remember watching. He was talented, emotional and tortured and brought to life some really great characters.  In short, he was a winner.

May you rest in peace, Robin. Thanks for the memories.